It seems the Rhodes Serendipity blogging community just got hit by a comment SPAM blitz. It is still going on and involves the keywords "phentermine diet pills casino".
First off, for those unfamiliar with MySQL and Serendipity, this SQL statement will get rid of it for you:
delete from serendipity_comments where body like '%phentermine%';
This assumes your DB prefix was the default 'serendipity', mine wasn't and so my table was called blog_comments.
It came from a variety of IP's,
here is a list.
The one IP "61.145.73.222", viewed 1109 pages giving me 1612 hits and using 18.54 MB of bandwidth andother one, "210.5.71.243.pldtvibe.com", viewed 405 pages with 640 hits and using 6.67 MB of bandwidth. So far I have recieved 257 SPAM comments today. I have denied those IP's in my .htaccess. Could other Rhodents or people in the community at large experiencing the "phentermine diet pills casino" SPAM, contribute IP's for a block list.
All of the domains referenced in the SPAM, namely:
- waylandenterprises.co.uk
- honeymoon-destination-a.us
- blackjack-123.com
Are all registered by:
Marketing Team 132 Main Street Seatons, Seatons W1 Antigua and Barbuda
casinogroup2000@yahoo.com
+2684636957
Two of the domains were registered by
GoDaddy.com with the third registered by
Global Registration ServicesAll three domains use ns(0,1).marketing-team-2004.us as their nameservers. With the marketing-team-2004.us domain also registered by
GoDaddy.com but with a different address and phone number:
Marketing Team
166 West 98 Street
New York 10030
casinogroup2000@yahoo.com
+1.2128235517
The site
http://www.marketing-team-2004.us/ only has the text "here you are".
Now how does one go about getting them shut down? Do I write to GoDaddy and say they are SPAMMERS?
It seems Rhodes is not the only one who has had trouble with these guys. A google search for their e-mail address turned up
this blog entry by someone who has had similar problems.
As they seem to use their yahoo address I sent them this mail:
On September the 3rd you started comment spamming our entire netblock. You sent me alone in excess of 150 spam entries. Since this is a commercial message, and since I have not requested to recieve commercial communications from you, this message constitutes an unsolicited communication in terms of section 45 of the Electronic Communications and Transactions Act (Act 25 of 2002). In terms of section 45(4) of this Act, this message serves as notification that I do not wish to receive any further communications from you. Failure to comply with this request constitutes a criminal offense in terms of the ECT Act.
Additionally, I hereby request that you immediately disclose where you obtained my contact details, as per section 45(1) of the ECT Act. Failure to respond to this request also constitutes a criminal offense. Should you wish to familiarise yourself with the relevant legislation, or check my facts, a copy of the ECT Act is available on-line via the Government's web site: http://www.gov.za/gazette/acts/2002/a25-02.pdf. Your co-operation in this matter will be appreciated.Let's wait and see if they reply. They are not South African and I don't think the ECT law applies to comment spam anyway. This is more of a scare tactic. They have been reported to the US Federal Trade Commission once before. Can I report them if I am not an American?
UPDATE I
I just got hit by some more comment SPAM. I am maintaining a block list
here. Only 97 this time. Also there are some common blocks they are coming from. I am going to mail their owners. If I get no reply then I will deny the whole block.
UPDATE II Sep 14th
I just got a reply, it said:
Hi Dominic,Sorry for the troublePlease send me the spammed blog URL and we will take it out from our databaseAll the bestSusanMy reply said:
Hi Thanks very much for the offer. There are quite a few blogs on our student server which has the rucus.net and rucus.ru.ac.za domain, most belong to computer science masters students and a few to some final year law students who whould also like to be removed, so could you remove all blogs in that domain.
If you are unable to remove the whole domain here is an incomplete list, there may be others who wish to be removed:
rucus.ru.ac.za
singe.rucus.net
ings.rucus.net
dmackie.rucus.net
dbrowe.rucus.net
lunda.rucus.net
cliff.rucus.net
jersey.rucus.net
Thanks again for your response.Let's hope this works.